Oconee County Schools

Special Services

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Oconee County Department of Special Education and Psychological Services to provide quality special education and psychological programs and services to students, parents and schools in Oconee County. The Department is committed to providing the assistance needed to ensure that students with disabilities are receiving the most appropriate services possible.

The Oconee County Department of Special Education provides services to students ages 3-21 who are eligible for special education and related services. All students with disabilities have the right to receive a free, appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment, with their non-disabled peers, as appropriate. The type and degree of services provided are determined through the development of an Individualized Education Program (I.E.P.).

Director of Special Services -

Suzanne Korngold
skorngold@oconeeschools.org

Staff Listing

Department Chairs, Behavior Support Teacher and Psychologists List

2014 - 2015

Name School/Position Email Address
Erin Owens OCPS Department Chair eowens@oconeeschools.org
Diane Brannon OCES Department Chair dbrannon@oconeeschools.org
Kathleen Foster CFES Department Chair kfoster@oconeeschools.org
Lydia Murphey MBES Department Chair lmurphey@oconeeschools.org
Jennifer Cannon RBES Department Chair jcannon@oconeeschools.org
Diana Hendry HSES Department Chair dhendry@oconeeschools.org
Sally Fowler OCMS Department Chair sfowler@oconeeschools.org
Kim Griffith MBMS Department Chair kgriffith@oconeeschools.org
Lisa Ulmer OCHS Department Chair lulmer@oconeeschools.org
Margie Scaffe NOHS Department Chair mscaffe@oconeeschools.org
Joy Sims Behavior Support Teacher-System jsims@oconeeschools.org
Brenda Douglas Psychologist for MBES, RBES, MBMS, and NOHS bdouglas@oconeeschools.org
Suzanne Jacobs Psychologist for OCPS, CFES and Preschool sjacobs@oconeeschools.org
Scott Eversole Psychologist for OCES, HSES, OCMS, and OCHS seversole@oconeeschools.org


Parent Mentor

Amy McCollum
amcmollum@oconeeschools.org


Documents for the Disclosure of Student Information to Dept. of Community Health

Notification of Parent/Guardian Rights and Protections

Vision:  Oconee County Schools will be a nationally-recognized leader in academic achievement by ensuring all students receive rigorous, balanced education that will enable them to compete in and contribute to a global society.


Motto:  Committed to Student Success